Audition Date: Saturday, January 8, 2022
On Line Audition Upload: January 8, 2022
Application Fee: $20 (payable by credit/debit card via PayPal)
Application Deadline: December 15, 2021
Awards: Winner receives $300 and the opportunity to perform in concert with the Grand Rapids Youth Symphony at DeVos Performance Hall on March 6, 2022.
Alternate receives $50 and the opportunity to perform if the winner is unavailable.

Student pianists ages 15 to 21 are invited to compete.
Specifically, a contestant:
— Must be at least age 15 but not yet age 21 by January 1, 2022.
— Must be between a high school sophomore and a college sophomore, inclusively, in the current school year.
— Must have a residence in one of the following Michigan counties: Allegan, Barry, Ionia, Kalamazoo, Kent, Mecosta, Montcalm, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana, Ottawa, and Van Buren.
> May be attending college or university outside of these counties if the primary residence is in one of these counties.
> May be attending college at any public or private college or university based in one of these counties (even if the primary residence is elsewhere).
— May win this competition only once.
— Must submit $20 application fee.
— Note: There is no requirement for music club affiliation.

— The choice of piece is up to the contestant, but it must be a work, or a movement of a work, for piano and orchestra.
— The audition piece will be the piece performed if the contestant wins.
— The piece’s total playing time must be at least 8 minutes and not more than 16 minutes long.
— The work must be performed from memory at the audition.

— Contestants must be accompanied at the audition.
— Contestants must provide their own accompanist.

— Audition upload video by January 8. 2022

For more information, please contact the GRYS Piano Concerto Competition coordinator at
or call the GR Piano Competition Chairman, Mary Ellen Logan at Youth Symphony office at 616-682-5725.

Registration has closed. If you already registered, watch your email for instructions how to submit your audition piece.